The Malawi Red Cross Society (MRCS) is a local humanitarian organization which started its operations in 1932 as the Nyasaland Branch of the British Red Cross. It became a member of the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies in 1971.

MRCS has 141 staff members and a total of  30,000 volunteers with 33 Divisions in all the 3 regions of Malawi. Its Headquarters is in Area 14, in Lilongwe

Our Fundamental Principles

The work of the Malawi Red Cross Society is based on the seven fundamental principles which are also principles of the global Red Cross Movement namely Humanity, Impartiality, Neutrality, Independence, Voluntary service, Unity and Universality.

Priority Areas

  • Humanitarian diplomacy
  • Health and social services
  • Disaster management
  • First aid and blood donor mobilization

Organisational History

The Malawi Red Cross Society has a long history of working directly with communities to improve the health of those most vulnerable. In 1966, the Malawi government passed Act 51 of Parliament establishing the MRCS as a voluntary society, allowing it the right to use the protected Red Cross and Red Crescent emblems in conformity with Geneva Conventions. Health and disaster management remain prioritized areas through 2019. Social care is closely linked to health.

The Ministry of Health (MoH) is the National Society’s line ministry, working together at all levels. National Society activities complement health services provided by the Government of Malawi through MoH facilities, with the goal of reaching those in need and improving the health of vulnerable communities through disease prevention, health promotion, service delivery and humanitarian diplomacy, mostly in hard to reach areas. The Malawi Red Cross Society also works with the Department of Disaster Management, Water department and other humanitarian actors to address emergency humanitarian challenges.